The Agricultural Microbiology Study Program focuses on the study of living agricultural resources, their beneficial and sustainable aspects. Many agricultural aspects can only be understood through a microbiological approach. Microbiology serves as a crucial foundation for modern biotechnology development.

In 1950, a few years after the establishment of UGM’s Agriculture Faculty, the Microbiology Laboratory was founded. It later developed into the Microbiology Section in 1963. By 1972, this section became the Department of Agricultural Microbiology, overseeing the Agricultural Microbiology Study Program. Eventually, it transformed into the Department of Agricultural Microbiology. According to the Decree of Minister of Education and Culture No. 22/DIKTI/Kep/85, the Department was dissolved, and the Agricultural Microbiology Study Program was placed under the Faculty of Agriculture’s Department of Soil Science at UGM.

In 1994, the national curriculum led to the removal of the Agricultural Microbiology Study Program, integrating Microbiology into the Soil Science Study Program. Later, following Rector’s Decree No. 121/P/SK/HKTL/2003, the Agricultural Microbiology Study Program was reinstated and directly managed by the Faculty of Agriculture.
In 2009, the Department of Agricultural Microbiology reopened per Rector’s Decree No. 294/P/SK/HT/2009, establishing the Department of Agricultural Microbiology at Universitas Gadjah Mada.

Students in this program are trained to become agricultural experts specializing in Microbiology. They gain knowledge and practical skills through lectures, discussions, literature reviews, lab work, field activities, seminars, and community services. In their final phase, students conduct research, reporting their findings in a thesis. They receive guidance from subject experts and are encouraged to present their research in seminars or publish it in national scientific journals.